Dear NCWTS, Never Change: Busch wins, Crafton crowned in season finale

After a season that was undeniably too short, the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series came to a close Friday night in the only way it knew how: with exhilarating racing and three attempts at a Green-White-Checkered. And with Kyle Busch winning.

The driver’s championship going to Matt Crafton was a certainty going into this weekend. Simply starting the race gave him the honor. However, the owner’s championship wasn’t a guarantee for him and the No. 88 team at ThorSport Racing. They had to go up against Busch, who was wheeling the No. 51 for his own team, Kyle Busch Motorsports. Also, the title of Rookie of The Year was on the line. It was going to be an exciting night.

The racing was incredible. That’s the only way to describe it. It’s a feat in this sport to produce attention-grabbing, breathtaking, mind-boggling racing week in and week out. The drivers that make up the NCWTS are dedicated athletes that want to win. It’s more than money to them. That’s exactly why the series is such a hit. The fact that there’s usually carnage involved doesn’t hurt, either. However, the idea of watching a driver grow, seeing them climb the ladder of success is old-school. It’s comforting. It’s worth watching.

A young gun worth watching is Ryan Blaney. In this past year, the nineteen-year old has blossomed into a young man with as endless amount of talent and class. That combination -along with winning, of course- earned him the honor of the 2013 NCWTS Rookie of The Year. He beat out Jeb Burton and Darrell Wallace Jr. for the label, two youngsters who both made a splash this year.

With Busch winning after three GWC attempts, he tied the owner’s points up. Crafton, who had to finish 19th or higher to clinch that esteem, failed to do so. The tiebreaker was the number of wins, which went to the KBM No. 51 truck. Busch and his wife Samantha took home the trophy, smiles everywhere.

Dear NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, Never change. You are a breath of clean, much-needed air. Thank you for spicing up the weekend. Keep that spunk.

We love it to death.

Final Point Standings

1. Matt Crafton (–)
2. Ty Dillon (-40)
3. James Buescher (-43)
4. Johnny Sauter (-72)
5. Jeb Burton (-73)
6. Ryan Blaney (-78)
7. Brendan Gaughan (-87)
8. Darrell Wallace Jr. (-100)
9. Miguel Paludo (-107)
10. Timothy Peters (-121)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s