Passion, courage, and integrity: the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s newest inductees

The NASCAR Hall of Fame is the home of notable faces and races, built in the heart of the sport’s hub. Within its walls sit racecars, suits, stories, and displays that encapsulate racing. It beats with passion, courage, and integrity.

Every year, five nominees are selected out of the original 25 to be inducted the following January. A voting panel votes in the morning, and the announcement is later that afternoon.

Wednesday, the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s class of 2015 was revealed and broadcasted live on Fox Sports 1. Here are the inductees and their contributions to NASCAR. The induction ceremony will be January 30th, 2015.

Bill Elliott: with 87% of the vote, Awesome Bill from Dawsonville claimed a spot on the lineup. Elliott is known best for his various accomplishments within the sport; he’s won the Daytona 500 twice, the Southern 500 three times, and a championship in 1988. The 16-time Most Popular Driver Award recipient is known by the younger generation for being the father of NASCAR Nationwide Series driver Chase Elliott. However, his mark on NASCAR will never go unnoticed, especially after this. Congratulations to Bill Elliott, Hall of Fame inductee.

Fred Lorenzen: “The Golden Boy” is next of the roster. In a part-time career, Lorenzen won both the Daytona 500 and the World 600 in 1965. He was also the first driver to earn over $100,000. With 26 wins, 84 top-10s, and 32 poles in 158 starts, the mechanic-turned-driver is considered one of NASCAR’s greatest, and it’s easy to see why. Congratulations to Fred Lorenzen, Hall of Fame inductee.

Wendell Scott: This acceptance of Scott is worlds different than how it was forty-plus years ago. After overcoming the racist eras of the 1960s and 1970s, he became the first African-American to race full-time and to win a race at NASCAR’s highest level. His 13-year career is highlighted by 147 top-10s and nearly 500 starts. Those achievements carry on, fueling NASCAR’s Drive for Diversity program and future racecar drivers who see stereotypes as obstacles. That impact propels him into a whole other level. Congratulations to Wendell Scott, Hall of Fame inductee.

Joe Weatherly: More history is added with this next driver. His success extended beyond NASCAR’s premier series. He’s been victorious in both the NASCAR Modified and the NASCAR Convertible divisions, with 101 and 12 wins in each respective series. That record in topped with championships in 1962 and 1963. Some many not know about his significance, but now they can educate themselves on his historic stats. Congratulations to Joe Weatherly, Hall of Fame inductee.

Rex White: In nine years, White ran 233 races and earned top-10s in 163 of them (70%). His specialty was short track racing, and he thrived during a time when those venues made up most of the schedule. Though he never ran a full season, he won the 1960 championship and left his mark as a consistent, dedicated racer. He is also the smallest driver to win a championship, measuring in at five feet, four inches. Despite this, there is nothing small about his legacy. Congratulations to Rex White, Hall of Fame inductee.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s